How Meetup Connects Dallas Cowboys Fans in Seattle

Know any Dallas Cowboys fans residing in the Evergreen State?

Barry Gipson
3 min readApr 6, 2024
Meetup is a social media platform for hosting and organizing in-person and virtual activities, gatherings, and events for people and communities of similar interests, hobbies, and professions. It was founded in 2002 by Scott Heiferman and four others.

The Evergreen State

When my family and I relocated to the Evergreen State with the Navy in 2014 I turned to technology to link up with other Cowboys fans. This is when the Meetup app officially entered the chat.

Once I retired in 2016 I jumped head-first into creating content on social media for Cowboys fans. In addition, creating a Facebook group with over 20K members currently spread around the globe.

In 2018 I teamed up with The Seattle Dallas Cowboys Meetup Group for a tailgate when the Cowboys visited CenturyLink Field at the time. We had over 300 Cowboys fans show up to their tailgate thanks to word getting out on social media.

Dave Krause the former leader and founder has relinquished the group to someone willing to organize and lead it this season. Thanks to my decision to not travel to any games this season (Creating Boundaries) with America’s Team I will take the lead on this Meetup community. Do you know any Cowboys fans in the Evergreen State?

--

--

Barry Gipson

A Father, Dallas Cowboys, LA Lakers fan, and veteran sharing insights and more for the '24 NFL & NBA seasons. A pivot in content.