How to take a “Contrarian” strategy ground approach in fantasy football

Barry Gipson
4 min readAug 25, 2023
This season I will implement my CONTRARIAN ground game strategy in all 3 of my leagues on ESPN.

I Like To Go Against The Grain

I’ve always approached things in my life differently. My fantasy football strategy this season will be no different. How can I approach my 3 leagues differently this season? This is always the burning question in my brain. The term “Contrarian” in fantasy football explains my strategy this season.

Contrarian sports betting is a strategy that involves betting against the public or popular sentiment, with the notion that the public tends to be biased towards favorites and overvalues particular teams or players.

The devaluation of the NFL RB this summer was, and still is very disrespectful to watch heading into the regular season. I predict these skilled players can provide tremendous value within your rosters.

With the NFL gone “Pass Happy” in recent years, much attention has been placed on the WR/TE positions. To go after and draft in the earlier rounds. Like I always say you have to be able to read the draft room first.

--

--

Barry Gipson

A Father, Dallas Cowboys, LA Lakers fan, and veteran sharing insights and more for the '24 NFL & NBA seasons. A pivot in content.