Why the “Injury Opponent” is undefeated in the NFL

How an injury triggered the minds of many for the worse and sucked the life out of Metlife Stadium during Monday Night Football.

Barry Gipson
3 min readSep 12, 2023
Medical personnel help New York Jets quarterback Aaron Rodgers (8) onto a cart after he was injured during the Jets' first set of downs against the Buffalo Bills on Monday, September 11, 2023, in East Rutherford, N.J. Andrew Mills | NJ Advance Media

Big Picture Reality

What a treacherous week one injury that will change the landscape of both fantasy football and ultimately an NFL team. More importantly, all the fans connected to this event. As I have shared here previously every team actually faces 4 opponents each game. The Injury Opponent is one and is undefeated currently.

I had a vested interest in Aaron Rodgers for two reasons tonight. I drafted him in my TOP FAN ESPN PPR 10-team league. My QB/TE stacking strategy with Tyler Conklin backfired. Resulting in my ass getting handed to me by “Context With Caitlyn” from my Facebook group in week one.

Fortunately, I drafted Derek Carr and Mike Thomas to boot in NO. I will need to replace my stacking strategy with my PLAN B now. Always think ahead. With serious interest in the Bills/ Jets MNF contest tonight as a Cowboys fan, I tuned in. Most importantly all things considered which took place 22 years ago today on 9/11 in remembrance.

Unfortunately after all the hype, HBO Hard Knocks, and Rodgers mania along with attracting others…

--

--

Barry Gipson

A Father, Dallas Cowboys, LA Lakers fan, and veteran sharing insights and more for the '24 NFL & NBA seasons. A pivot in content.